Les Sables d'Olonne > The Tour d'Arundel and the Castle St Clair

The Tour d'Arundel and the Castle St Clair


Place Maraud
85100 LES SABLES D'OLONNE

Built by the Princes of Talmont in the 15th cen- tury, the chateau was seized by the Protestant leader, Soubise, in 1622, whom ordered fortifi- cations to be built. First a garrison under Louis XIII, the château, which currently houses the Sea Museum, was bombed in 1796 by the Anglo-Dutch, seized by the government in 1835, and finally restored between 1986 and 1994. The tower forms part of the Cha- teau Saint-Clair’s defences. The first harbour light was intro- duced in 1593. In the 18th century, the La Chaume lighthouse was the only lighthouse in the Vendée. Its present appea- rance is the result of res- toration work undertaken between 1857 and 1858. When visiting the sea mu- seum, take the unique oppor- tunity to go to the top of the tower and enjoy stunning panoramic views. Viewpoint indi- cator from 1911.

Opening

  • Open all year

Characteristics

  • Location of the place
    • Outside

Last update : 11/04/2017 at 10h46
Retour haut de page